Skip to content
Gary McCarthy

Gary McCarthy

Gary McCarthy is the author of fifteen published American historical and thirty-four westerns novels. In 1993, his “THE GILA RIVER” won the Western Writers of America’s Spur Award as the best historical paperback novel of that year and “RIVER THUNDER” won the 2009 Western Writers of America’s Spur Award for Best Audio Book. His 1991 “RUSSIAN RIVER” California historical novel and 2003 Arizona Western novel “RESTITUTION” were Spur Award Finalists. In 2019, he was awarded the Life Achievement Peacemaker Award by the Western Fictioneers.

McCarthy received widespread recognition for his extremely well researched novels relating to our NATIONAL PARKS and his highly popular OUR AMERICAN WEST VOL. 1-4 SERIES. He is the creator of the THE DERBY MAN and the THE HORSEMEN SERIES. McCarthy has also worked on other successful series including RIVERS WEST, GUNSMOKE, RAILS WEST and the longest running series of them all…LONGARM. He has also written three Script Stories based on his New York Published novels.

The author is well suited to writing about the American West; he grew up with horses and received a B.S. degree in Animal Science and an M.S. in Economics from the University of Nevada. Before becoming a full time novelist, McCarthy was employed as an economist.  He is very interested in Native American cultures, especially the Navajo, Hualapai and Hopi and historical preservation of southwestern western archaeological sites. McCarthy had been president of two Rotary Clubs and served on many community boards.

Gary McCarthy has over five million books in print and resides in Arizona with his wife, Jane. He enjoys hiking and horseback riding in the Grand Canyon Rim Country when he is not traveling the Southwest in search of new stories upon which to base his next novel.

Series By Gary McCarthy

Shop All Books By Gary McCarthy